Dec 19, 2023

Kathea Energy Nkosi Cup – Namibia victorious in Inaugural final

A capacity crowd at the Wynberg Military Base was on hand to witness a remarkable final of the inaugural Kathea Energy Nkosi Cup. It was a renewal of the old rivalry as South Africa locked horns with the Namibians to decide the first champion. It was the 50th Test cap for SPAR South Africa striker Kayla de Waal, who had the honour of leading the team on.

The game got off to an incredible start with Namibia opening the scoring in less than 40 seconds. Marcia Venter ran up the right and squared for Gillian Hermanus to open the scoring. It got even better when Kiana Cormack scored her first goal of the final from a penalty corner. The SPAR South Africa team were shocked but slowly started to exert their own impact on the final.

Malikah Hamza pulled a goal back from a penalty corner to end the first interval just one goal down. The second reverted to type with a tighter and tentative battle that ultimately failed to see either side add to the score line. 2-1 to the Namibians at the half-time break.

After some on court entertainment from John McInroy and Nkosi the Lion the teams emerged onto the court. The SPAR South Africans pulled level with a wonderful flowing counter attacking move that was superbly dinked home by Cailynn den Bakker. It was a great moment for the South Africans who had restored parity and had the momentum in their favor.

It was not the South Africans who scored next but rather the Namibians. Just before the end of the third quarter Namibia were awarded a penalty corner and Kiana Cormack found the back of the net despite her reaction saying she had not connected properly.

There was no doubt over the connection on her hat-trick completing third. Firing it high and wide past Cheree Greyvenstein. The South Africans pulled their keeper, but Namibia responded with a well worked defensive setup limiting the chances and opportunities for the hosts and sealing their fate as the first ever Nkosi Cup Champions.

Kathea Energy MVP of the final – Gillian Hermanus (Namibia)
Top Goal scorer – Kiana Cormack (Namibia)
Player of the Tournament – Kiana Cormack (Namibia)
Goalkeeper of the Tournament – Petro Stoffberg (Namibia)

Final Standings

1 – Namibia
2 – South Africa
3 – Ireland

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts