Sep 15, 2023

SA Hockey announce the SA Hockey Men Talent Squad for 2023/24

South African Hockey has today announced the Talent Squad for the 2023/24 period. The squad of 15 players supplements the High-Performance squad of 32 announced two weeks ago and includes players earmarked for significant future involvement in the national programme.

The squad features a few exciting players who have featured either for South Africa U21 Men’s team in recent times and will work together with the national senior coaching staff on their ongoing development.

There are of course several players who have yet to earn a cap and their inclusion will get them a step closer to realizing a dream of wearing the green and gold.

SA Hockey Head Coach Cheslyn Gie:

“We are really excited about the younger players who performed admirably at the SA Hockey IPT in KZN. The talent squad has been selected in order to help strengthen the depth of South African men’s Hockey and assist in the transitioning into the Men’s Senior Team in the future. We are excited to work with these young men!”

SA Men’s Hockey Talent Squad – 2023/24

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Idrees Abdulla 0 Damian Knott 0 Sihle Ngubane 24
Calvin Davis 0 Cameron le Forrestier 6 Tevin Petersen 0
Brendan du Toit 0 Ryan Mann 0 Niel Raath 0
Kamva Dyakala 0 Hans Neethling 0 Jose Smith 0
Elrich Jacobs 0 Thabang Jeyi 0 Angelo Walstroom 0

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts

SA Mens Hockey Team named for 13th African Games

SA Mens Hockey Team named for 13th African Games

Field Hockey returns to the African Games for the first time since Nigeria in 2003. The competition, a non-olympic qualifier will see the best African nations battle it out for the bragging rights. In 2003 it was the Egyptians who earned the gold medal defeating South...

India triumph over South Africa in One-off test

India triumph over South Africa in One-off test

The South African Hockey Men had the opportunity to play their second test match of 2024 with another massive challenge taking on World number 3 India. The Indians have won every meeting between the two sides since 2012 including the most recent at the FIH Hockey...