Sep 8, 2023

SA Women’s Hockey Squad Named

The South African Hockey IPT recently concluded at Riverside Sports Complex in KwaZulu Natal. The tournament saw Western Province secured a famous victory over the Northern Blues in the final. Now with the dust settled on our national tournament, the selectors of the national women’s team have named the players selected for the next period.

The looming assignment for the South African Women’s Hockey is the African Hockey Road to Tokyo Qualifier to be hosted in South Africa. The winner of this tournament will take Africa’s quota place at the Paris Olympic Games in 2024.

The bulk of the squad that has done duty for the team continues while a number of players will be afforded the opportunity to earn a few more caps to their names. There are four debutants in the camp while Dirkie Chamberlain returns to a call up for the first time since February 2020.

Head Coach Giles Bonnett

“We are looking forward to an exciting period of hockey ahead for the South African Women’s Hockey team. We believe we have the squad to continue our challenge of rising up the world rankings and testing ourselves against the world’s best nations. The squad has a great mix of players and we can’t wait to get underway at our next camp.”

SA Women’s Hockey Squad 2023-24

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Anelle Van Deventer 42 Erin Christie 93 Marlise van Tonder 30
Antonet Louw 14 Hannah Pearce 41 Ntsopa Mokoena 16
Aphiwe Dimba 0 Hanrie Louw 21 Ongeziwe Mali 28
Bianca Wood 35 Jean-Leigh Du Toit 28 Onthatile Zulu 44
Cailynn Den Bakker 8 Kayla De Waal 10 Paris-Gail Isaacs 0
Celia Seerane 173 Kayla Swarts 9 Quanita Bobbs 172
Charlene Boshoff 0 Kirsty Adams 18 Robyn Johnson 46
Charné Maddocks 21 Kristen Paton 68 Stephanie Botha 21
Dirkie Chamberlain 241 Laylaa Davids 0 Taheera Augousti 16
Edith Molikoe 22 Maboloke Serage 9 Tarryn Lombard 80

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts

South Africa U21 Mens 2024 Squad announced.

South Africa U21 Mens 2024 Squad announced.

The South African Hockey Association has announced the South African Under 21 Men;s Squad. The 38-player squad, under the continued guidance of Guy Elliott, will see a team selected for the SA Hockey IPT in September and the Junior Africa Cup in Ghana in October, with...