Jan 11, 2024

SA Women’s Hockey Squad Unveiled for French Test Series

The South African Women’s Hockey team sets its sights on an exciting series as they unveil their 24-player squad for the upcoming French Test Series. Following their triumphant qualification for the Olympics by securing victory in the African Hockey Road to Paris Qualifier, the team is fervently gearing up for their journey towards the Olympic Games.

Set to host the Olympic Hosts, France, the squad will engage in a riveting six-match test series at SACS in Cape Town. The upcoming series promises to be a showcase of talent and strategic prowess as both teams prepare for the pinnacle event in world hockey.

This series marks an opportunity for rising stars like Kayla Swarts, Ntsopa Mokoena, Paris-Gail Isaacs, Taheera Augousti, and Rea Phume to demonstrate the invaluable insights gained from their participation in the Junior World Cup held in Chile. Additionally, co-captain Erin Christie is poised to achieve a remarkable milestone, earning her 100th test cap during the series—a testament to her dedication and skill. On the other end of the spectrum both Charlene Boshoff and Rea Phume are poised to earn their debut caps.

At the helm of the team’s guidance is head coach Giles Bonnet, currently in his second term as the national coach. His leadership and strategic acumen will undoubtedly steer the squad toward their aspirations for success.

Fans and enthusiasts eagerly anticipating this thrilling series can stay tuned for ticketing and broadcast details, which will soon be shared across SA Hockey’s social media platforms.

SA Hockey Women’s Squad – French Test Series

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Anelle Van Deventer 48 Edith Molikoe 28 Onthatile Zulu 50
Antonet Louw 20 Erin Christie 99 Paris-Gail Isaacs 4
Aphiwe Dimba 6 Hanrie Louw 23 Quanita Bobbs 178
Bianca Wood 41 Kayla De Waal 15 Reabetswe Phume 0
Cailynn Den Bakker 10 Kayla Swarts 13 Stephanie Botha 26
Celia Seerane 179 Kirsty Adams 20 Taheera Augousti 20
Charlene Boshoff 0 Marlise van Tonder 30 Tarryn Lombard 86
Dirkie Chamberlain 243 Ntsopa Mokoena 20


Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts