Dec 1, 2023

SA Women’s Indoor Hockey named for tour to Switzerland

The SPAR South Africa Indoor Hockey Women’s team has had a remarkable 2023, filled with achievements that have etched their names in history. Beginning with a groundbreaking journey to the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup semi-finals, they carried that momentum to clinch the Tuanku Zara International Cup in Malaysia.

Even with the imminent Kathea Energy Nkosi Cup on the horizon, the team is already looking ahead, setting their sights on 2024. Today, SA Hockey proudly unveils the squad for an upcoming International test series in Switzerland. Scheduled for the end of January 2024, this thrilling event will encompass a 6-match test series. With the Swiss preparing for the EuroHockey Championships straight after, the challenge will be of a high standard for the sixth ranked South Africans.

Elizabeth Porter and Tatum Kroutz emerge as potential candidates for their inaugural test caps for the country. Kroutz, awarded the young player of the tournament at the Indoor IPT, currently showcases her talent with the U21 National side in Chile. Joining her is Cerian Fourie, earning a recall since her last appearance against Ireland in December 2022, after being a part of the U21 National side.

South Africa’s prior trip to Switzerland in 2019 culminated in a memorable series draw of 2-2. Jamie Southgate, Cheree Greyvenstein, Jess Lardant, and Tegan Fourie were pivotal figures in that squad. Their seasoned experience will undoubtedly play a critical role in the upcoming 2024 series.

AJ Spieringshoek, the head coach of the SPAR South Africa indoor hockey women’s team, eagerly anticipates this series, emphasizing their robust rapport with Swiss Hockey. Reflecting on the intense battles witnessed in Malaysia against the Swiss, Spieringshoek views this as another exceptional opportunity to fortify their lineup, preparing for the African Cup in 2024 and the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in 2025. The strategy to rotate several players aims to continually enhance their depth, ensuring a robust team for the challenges ahead.

SPAR South Africa Women’s Indoor Hockey Squad – Switzerland Series (Caps as at 1 December 2023)

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Bonolo Moabi 6 Elizabeth Porter 0 Malikah Hamza 6
Cerian Fourie 9 Jamie Southgate 81 Sarah Paget 4
Cheree Greyvenstein 61 Jessica Lardant 52 Tatum Kroutz 0
Daniella de Oliveira 26 Laiken Brisset 17 Tegan Fourie 57


Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts