The Badgers’ trio of superbly taken goals from field play went to captain Andrew Cronje in the second minute, Matthew McConkey in the 48th and Ryan Crowe in the 52nd.

An action-packed 12 matches in 42 hours came to a fitting close and the Badgers deservedly collected the R25 000 winners’ cheque.

Throughout this outstanding event, the Badgers were compact in defence, inventive in midfield and composed in front of goal. The Cape Town side were also indebted to goalkeeper and player of the tournament Mark Turner, who made a number of breath-taking saves at vital moments in his team’s four matches.

The impressive Kearsney outfit made the Badgers work hard for the victory, yet the goalscoring opportunities they created didn’t translate into dividends.

In the playoff for third and fourth places, host club Riverside beat Johannesburg’s Wanderers Jockeys 6-3 after leading a comfortable 4-1 at the changeover.

Six Riverside players got on the scoresheet, which was a mark of their cohesion and support play. The strikes were shared between Terence Kidd, Taine Paton and Karl Oftebro from penalty corners, plus field goals by Chicken Price, Mike Wiggett and Steve Wiggett.

The Jockeys, who hinted at a comeback when they narrowed the goal-deficit from 0-4 to 3-5 with 11 minutes left, scored through a Stu Ledeboer field goal, captain Stuart Spooner’s penalty stroke and Mike Heyink via a penalty corner.

In the playoff for fifth and sixth places, Johannesburg’s Old Edwardians shaded Malik Old Albanians of Pretoria 2-1, their goals from field play going to Luke Sanan and Tyron Martin. Old Albanians had led 1-0 at half-time thanks to vice-captain Malcolm Ratz’s 13th minute strike.

Friday - Western Province CC Badgers 3 Old Edwardians 2; Kearsney HC 2 Malik Old Albanians 1; Wanderers Jockeys 1 Riverside HC 0.
Saturday - Riverside HC 5 Malik Old Albanians 1; Kearsney HC 7 Old Edwardians 1; WP CC Badgers 3 Wanderers Jockeys 0; Old Edwardians 2 Malik Old Albanians 0; Wanderers Jockeys 5 Kearsney HC 2; WP CC Badgers 2 Riverside 0.
Sunday - 5th / 6th place playoff: Old Edwardians 2 Malik Old Albanians 1; 3rd / 4th place playoff Riverside 6 Wanderers Jockeys 3; Final: WPCC Badgers 3 Kearsney HC 0.