The SPAR South Africa women’s Indoor hockey side that will be heading to the 2022 FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in Belgium has been named. The South African side received an invite to the tournament after the withdrawals due to COVID travel restrictions by both Australia and New Zealand.

For the SA Women it’s a new era after the retirement of legendary skipper Cindy Hack, along with the unavailability of Celia Seerane and Kelly Reed. It offers opportunity for a number of players, while Jessica O’Connor, who will become the most capped player at the World Cup, is a natural successor as captain.

They do however have a number of highly experienced players with Jamie Southgate having received her 50th cap at the Indoor Africa Cup of Nations, while Edith Molikoe, Jess Lardant, Eloise Walters and Robyn Johnson all have more than 30 test caps for their country.

South Africa will be competing for the fourth time at the FIH Indoor World Cup and would love nothing more than to improve on their 9th place finish at the 2015 World Cup. Under coach Lennie Botha the team have played a remarkable 108 test matches, winning 78 of them.

Of course, the South Africans have a remarkable run of form since the 2018 Indoor Hockey World Cup. They have played 53 test matches, winning 41 drawing 6 and losing just 6. Including victories against Switzerland, Czech Republic, Poland, Ireland, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

South Africa will be in Pool B alongside Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Namibia and Netherlands, with the top 4 teams advancing to the Quarter Final Stage

SA Captain Jessica O’Connor is eagerly anticipating the challenge

“We are SO excited to get to Belgium and take on the best in the world. The combination of experience and young new talent has created an exciting balanced dynamic. As always, we want to thank Spar for constantly backing us. We hope to make South Africa Proud.”

SA Women’s Indoor Team – FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup 2022




Charlize Swanepoel



Nepo Serage

Western Province


Jessica Lardant

SPAR KZN Raiders


Eloise Walters

KZN Inland


Daniela De Oliveira

SPAR KZN Raiders


Edith Molikoe

Northern Blues


Jamie Southgate

Western Province


Jess O'Connor

SPAR KZN Raiders


Tamlyn Kock

Southern Gauteng


Robyn Johnson

Southern Gauteng


Tegan Fourie

SPAR KZN Raiders


Kayla De Waal

Western Province



Travelling Reserves

Dunell van Taak

Northern Blues


Kirsty Adams

North West