Jun 19, 2024

Team South Africa Hockey teams named for the Paris Olympic Games

On Wednesday evening in Johannesburg, SASCOC announced the next batch of Team South Africa athletes for the Olympic Games in Paris. The teams announced included the Team SA Hockey Men and Women’s team that will be taking part in field hockey tournament at the Olympic Games.

The SA Women will be participating for the 6th time at the Paris Olympic having debuted in 2000. Giles Bonnet will become the first coach to lead the team to the games twice having previously overseen the SA Women’s team at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

The SA Women’s squad features six players that played at the 2021 Olympic Games in Tokyo namely Quanita Bobbs, Celia Seerane, Edith Molikoe, Kristen Paton, Onthatile Zulu and Erin Christie. Dirkie Chamberlain returns for her second Olympic games having played in 2012.

South Africa will compete in Pool B. They open their campaign against Australia on 28 July. Just over 24 hours later they are back in action against Argentina. After a one day break South Africa will play Great Britain and Spain in back-to-back days before rounding off the group stages with a game against United States.

The South African Men’s side, fresh off a bronze medal finish at the FIH Nations Cup, maintain the bulk of the squad that won the medal in Poland. Dayaan Cassiem will return to the lead the team. He is joined by his brother Mustapha as well as Keenan Horne, Matthew Guise-Brown, Ryan Julius, Tevin Kok, Dan Bell, Nic Spooner, Bili Ntuli and Sam Mvimbi from the squad that shocked Germany in Tokyo in 2021.

South Africa are in Pool A of the tournament and will start off against Netherlands and Great Britain. After the rest day they will take on Germany and then Spain before rounding off the pool stages with a match against tournament hosts France.

Details of broadcast will be shared on the SA Hockey Social media channels as well as the respective SASCOC pages.

Team SA Hockey Women – Paris Olympic Games 2024

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Taheera Augousti 26 Quanita Bobbs 184 Stephanie Botha 30
Dirkie Chamberlain 243 Erin Christie 105 Kayla de Waal 20
Paris-Gail Isaacs 7 Antonet Louw 26 Ongeziwe Mali 30
Ntsopa Mokoena 26 Edith Molikoe 34 Kristen Paton 72
Hannah Pearce 41 Celia Seerane 185 Anelle van Deventer 48
Onthatile Zulu 56 Travelling Reserve
Aphiwe Dimba
12 Travelling Reserve
Kayla Swarts

Giles Bonnet, Marcelle Keet, Lynne Abrahamse & Wayne Lombard

Team SA Hockey Men – Paris Olympic Games 2024

Name Caps Name Caps Name Caps
Dan Bell 106 Dayaan Cassiem 77 Mustapha Cassiem 54
Calvin Davis 1 Matthew Guise-Brown 67 Andrew Hobson 31
Keenan Horne 119 Gowan Jones 90 Ryan Julius 81
Tevin Kok 69 Zenani Kraai 18 Samkelo Mvimbi 58
Bili Ntuli 103 Brad Sherwood 42 Nic Spooner 71
Jacques van Tonder 27 Travelling Reserve
Estiaan Kriek
36 Travelling Reserve
Peabo Lembethe

Cheslin Gie, Sihle Ntuli, Devon van Der Merwe & Donavin George

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts