Sep 1, 2023

SA Hockey IPT 2023 | Thank You

The 2023 South African Hockey IPT delivered on an excellent tournament. Western Province was able to retain their title in the Men’s tournament while finally win the long evasive women’s trophy for a historic double.

And while the sun sets on the tournament it would only be appropriate for us to thank a number of people, with no intention of leaving anyone out.

Thank you to our LOC of Sharon Vernon, Robyn Wigget & Bronwen Eddie for the tremendous work done in hosting the tournament. To our two tournament directors Kokkie Sieling and Robyn Morgan we appreciate your calmness under pressure and the way you handled the curve balls thrown your way! Let us take a moment as we close off women’s month by acknowledging these remarkable women who drove the success of the tournament.

We would also like to thank our broadcast sponsor Supersport who made the entire tournament available on Supersport Schools, as well as the world class coverage of the Semi-Finals and Finals on Supersport itself. Thank you also to Belgotex Sport for sponsoring the photo coverage, superbly done by Zac Zinn / ES Media, I’m sure everyone has enjoyed seeing the handywork!

Thank you to all the sponsors of South African Hockey for your tremendous support as well as to those sponsoring the provincial teams directly.

It is our commitment to continue growing the game of hockey and affording fans the best opportunity to consume or support from anywhere in the world. The SA Hockey Fan App helped us take this up a level and we look forward to more opportunities to increase engagement with the loyal hockey fans of South Africa.

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts

SA Womens Squad named for 13th African Games

SA Womens Squad named for 13th African Games

South Africa first competed in the African Games Hockey contest on return from isolation in 1995. The South African women would win the gold medal in 95, 99 and 2003 without losing a game. Hockey was then removed from the African Games events before it has now been...